The Vision: Beth’s Lake, CO

Somewhere in Tennessee, I had camped over night at a beautiful lake that had reminded me very much of a vision that I had a couple of weeks after Beth’s passing.  At the time it was close to what I had envisioned, but it was not complete.  (If you never read that post, I would go back and check it out as the rest of this will not make any sense!  I placed a link below)

https://whereisjorge.wordpress.com/2008/07/01/

As I was heading out of Colorado and traveling south to Durango, I was going over a spectacular mountain range that is known as the Million Dollar Highway.  I am assuming this name comes from the spectacular views and vistas that were all over the three different mountain peaks that I had to climb to get to Durango.  As I drove through the area, I noticed that there were several lakes in the areas that had their own entrances and side roads that lead to them.  For some reason I passed over a bunch of them, until I came to a little dirt road that lead to a lake known as Little Molas.

The best way to describe the feeling was nothing more than, I needed to check this path out.  The path wound and turned as it climbed further up the mountain, and for a while I was not sure if there was even going to be a lake at all.  Then the following opened up as I rounded the last turn:

Now I knew that eventually on this journey I would find this.  I was not sure when or how, but I knew that it would present itself once I was ready and the opportunity was there.  If I would have taken a picture of the vision that I had, I do not think that it would look any different than this. 

Beth had always been drawn to water and if there were a natural element that she embodied it would be water.  She had a way of flowing and ebbing with anything that came her way.  I know we had always discussed one day having a mountain home, and I think that given the circumstances, she could not have picked a better one.

I spent quite a bit of time by the lake.  I think I ran through the entire human emotional spectrum while I was there.  I think the hardest part was the letting go and allowing myself to be at peace with reality.  So this is a compilation of various shots of the lake and feelings that I had while I was sending her home:

~ by coachcrew on July 27, 2008.

4 Responses to “The Vision: Beth’s Lake, CO”

  1. I don’t know what to say because I am overwhelmed with tears, but thank you so much for sharing this. I believe that you finding this lake was meant to be and as hard as it is, I am glad that Beth is at peace at home…

  2. Jorge,
    Last night I had a dream of you and Beth, I don’t remember exactly what happened in the dream but I woke up this morning with thoughts of both of you surrounding me. So I had to see where you were today and this is the post I read, how perfect! Thank you so much for sharing this journey with me. You are a hero in every sense of the word. I love you and you always have my heart.
    Love,
    Michelle

  3. Oh, wow.

    What an amazing man you are – and I can’t thank you enough for being so available to share yourself with such openness.

    Thinking of both of you,
    Tracy

  4. And on a by the way, I just got back from another trip to Colorado Springs myself and discovered on the terrifying slopes of Pike’s Peak that real women – and real men – “Don’t need guard rails!” (lol but true…)

    Big hug,
    t

Leave a comment